About Us


The Chelan/Douglas School Retirees’ Association is one of the State Units of The Washington State School Retirees’ Association (formerly the Washington State Retired Teachers’ Association). It is referred to as WSSRA with more than 18,000 members.

WSSRA aims to enhance the security and vitality of your retirement years. We welcome all present and future TRS, PERS and SERS retirees. We provide pro-retiree and pro-education advocacy and leadership to the Washington State Legislature. We have representatives on governmental bodies that impact retirement and pension issues, and we collaborate and advocate with other groups that share our vision, values, and aims.

We also sponsor pre-retirement seminars throughout the state, award (in cooperation with the PEMCO Insurance Company) substantial scholarships to future teachers, provide classroom grants to active teachers in local schools, and foster volunteer activities with Washington’s school children. WSSRA provides access to many members-only benefits through the Association Member Benefits Advisors (AMBA). Special insurance rates, travel discounts and product savings are available to our members.

We consider ourselves educators for life. If you are or have been a certificated or classified school district employee in the state of Washington-from superintendent to school nurse or behavioral psychologist to bus driver-you are welcome at the Washington State School Retirees’ Association.


Sue Kane CDSRA Contact

Marie Buckner Vice President

Christi DeKraai Co-Secretary

Jan Ottosen Co-Secretary

Sue Kane Treasurer


JoAnn Lewis, Sharon Salley, Deb Lacy & Vinnie Lee Membership Committee

Terry Sloane State Legislative Committee

Nancy Valeson Health

Denise Perkins WSSRA Board Member

Denise Perkins & Sue Kane Communications

Christie DeKraai & Jan Ottosen Community Service

Mary King Retirement

Marie Buckner & Deb Lacy Special Projects

Kriss Crilly Past President

Front row: Vinny Lee, Nancy Valeson & JoAnn Lewis
Back Row: Sue Kane, Beverly Jagla, Denise Perkins,
Jan Ottosen, Terry Sloan, Christi DeKraai, Sharon Salley & Kriss Crilly
Scroll to top